Paris – France 2012

Paris is one of my favorite cities that I have been to.  The architecture, the colors, the sidewalk cafes all combine to make it one of the most romantic cities in the world.

*Side Note* On the way to France, we had a connecting light in Chicago and I saw Air Force One as the plane was going toward the terminal.  Pretty cool.

When we first arrived in Paris, we had about half a day before we met up with our tour group.  We decided to eat lunch and make a trip to the Louvre since it wasn’t a stop on our tour.  The museum is HUGE and the map is kind of confusing, but we were able to navigate ourselves to the pieces the guide books recommend to see.  These would be things like the Mona Lisa, the Venus de Milo, etc.  The Mona Lisa was definitely the most popular piece of art in the museum, with a huge crowd around the painting.  It’s a lot smaller than I thought it would be, but it was cool to finally be able to see this painting that I’ve always seen in books and on TV.

After the Louvre, we had a difficult time finding a cab back to the hotel.  It took us about 40 minutes to get a cab and the driver was not very nice to us (probably the only rude French person we came across).

Later that night we took a tour ride down the Seine River.  It wasn’t what I thought it would be because since it was a “night on the Seine.”  I thought we would be able to see the city lights, but it was still bright as could be at 8pm and hot.


A view from the bus

A few days later we returned to Paris and we had an entire day to ourselves.  My family and I were out walking around Paris for about 14 hours.  I’ve never been out for that long walking around.  It was super tiring, but we had a day to visit everything we wanted to visit in Paris.  The downside of a tour.  We visited Notre Dame, San Chapelle and its amazing stain glass windows, the Arc de Triomphe, the Musee de Orsay, with eating and walking in between.  My favorite place would probably be the Musee de Orsay, beautiful museum with different kinds of works.

Those were a few of the places I went to in the two days I was in Paris.  I hope to be able to return and be able to spend more time strolling around the city rather than rushing through every place.

Leave a Reply

