Mark’s Birthday [Part 1: Disneyland]

This was the first time we spent a birthday together and I really wanted to do something really special for Mark.  He kept mentioning to me that he hasn’t had a special birthday in the past and I knew I had to fix that.  I had an idea of what I wanted to do for his birthday about two months in advance, so I was excited to finally be able to put the plan into action.  His birthday was a span of two days with a lot of fun, food, and laughs.

Day 1 was his real birthday.  We love Disneyland and I knew he would love to be able to spend a day at Disneyland with me (even though we go plenty of times, each time is always different to us).  Being able to experience the Disney magic as well as strangers telling you happy birthday would be a memory in its own.  I kept searching for the best restaurant to take him to, since I didn’t want to eat snack food like we usually do, but my poor wallet would have been so sad if we went to some of the places I wanted to go to.  Little did I know that there was a turn around during the night.  The day was a little bumpy in the middle, but it turned out to be a great day for the both of us.

Counting Down

In the first minutes into Mark’s birthday, we were playing a two person game of Monopoly.  It’s been a while since I played the game and I learned about some rules that I never knew existed in Monopoly (like auctioning property when someone doesn’t want it.  When did that happen???)

Eventually our game of Monopoly changed into whatever rules we wanted to do and we ended the game midway (since it was about 2am and we were tired).  I was waking up early the next day (okay it wasn’t that early… 9:00 is early to me!) to make Mark breakfast.  I wanted to start the day right with some breakfast since we hardly ever wake up early enough to eat breakfast.

This was my first time making pancakes, and they ended up different sizes and with different thickness.  I’m not the best chef, but it’s the thought that counts, right?  I topped it off with some strawberries to give the plate some color and vitamins.  Now I have a ton of pancake mix that won’t be used until the next eternity.  If anyone knows any recipes that uses pancake mix, let me know!  Maybe I’ll have a breakfast for dinner night one day… Off topic!

Birthday Breakfast

Off to Disneyland

We got to Disneyland a little earlier than we usually go, to do as many things as we wanted to before getting tired.  We stopped by guest relations to get Mark’s super awesome birthday pin.  I loved being able to see a little smile on his face every time someone said happy birthday to him.

It was HOT, probably close to 100 degrees.  He really wanted to go on the Grizzly Rapids to get drenched, but we passed by it once because the line was too long and when we came back to it, the ride was closed.  I survived getting soaked again.  I always end up getting the most wet on that ride and the people who want to go on that ride hardly ever get wet.  Even though it was hot, walking around in wet socks is uncomfortable.  We went on a few of our favorites: Toy Story Mania (he beat me for the second time!) and Soaring Over California, along with a couple other rides and ice cream before going to Disneyland.

It was the first day of the Halloween theme which was exciting.  I love when Disneyland is decorated.  It adds so much more festivity to the park.  The Haunted Mansion was still closed when we went which was kind of sad, but we will probably end up going on the ride in a few weeks (Nightmare Before Christmas theme!  My favorite!).  Indiana Jones is also closed until December for renovations, which made Mark sad because that is one of his favorite rides.  Let the birthday boy go on his favorite rides!

We made a stop at “Great Moments with Mr. Lincoln” because Mark had never been before and he wanted to see what it was about after seeing it on Modern Family.  The show started off with a group of singers that sang patriotic songs and they sounded really good.  It was a good tribute to America and worked well with the theme of the exhibit.  We also got to applaud those who served in the military when the group sang the songs that represented a certain brigade.  Mr. Lincoln is a very lifelike robot (which I thought was kind of creepy especially when it stood up.  I wasn’t expecting that, but I was waiting for it to start walking).  The video shown gave a good background about President Lincoln’s life and was followed by a speech by the “President.”  This is a good place to visit if you’ve never seen it.  It’s the same show that Walt Disney produced way back and it’s a good break from walking around and the heat.  There are nice exhibits around the theater where you can see the history of Disneyland as well as Disneyland artwork.

After “Great Moments with Mr. Lincoln,” it was getting darker and we were getting hungrier.  Mark brought up that he wanted to get Korean BBQ after we rode a few more rides and I said yes to that (love KBBQ and both of us didn’t know where to eat).  Previously, I’ve mentioned that I wanted to eat at the Blue Bayou, since… well it’s the Blue Bayou and every Disneyland fan has to eat there at least once.  I’ve always thought that it’s so cool that Pirates of the Caribbean goes right past the restaurant.  We were walking around New Orleans Square and I pointed out the restaurant again before going to the bathroom.  After I got out, the little trickster told me that he made a reservation at the Blue Bayou.  WHAT?!  I thought he was lying.  He couldn’t have made a reservation.  You have to make a reservation days in advance.  He kept telling me that he made it and that the wait was about 20 to 40 minutes, but I still didn’t believe him.  Wasn’t I supposed to surprise him since it was his birthday?  But it ended up being him surprising me!  Like I said, the little trickster!  We waited for about 40 minutes and we were getting more and more excited about being able to eat there.  We were going to be able to eat at one of Disneyland’s most coveted places to eat!

Read the extended version of our experience of the Blue Bayou here.

Dinner was amazing and was such an experience for both of us.  The bill was something we’ve never seen too, but it was all worth it!  We were both really happy and full.  After dinner we went on Pirates of the Caribbean, just to be able to say that we ate at that restaurant.  When I was a kid, I thought that the people at the restaurant were fake.  We tried to go on Ghost Galaxy, but the park became a lot busier after it got dark so the wait was 85 minutes.  We decided to go home since we had a fun and successful day at the parks, going on plenty of rides and of course, eating at the Blue Bayou.  We were both happy being able to spend the day with each other at one of our favorite places.  We want nothing more than to make the other person happy.  Day 1 = success!

Happy Birthday to my baby <3

Leave a Reply

