You’re a Wizard, Harry

If you don’t want to spoil the park for yourself, don’t read ahead!  I didn’t read anything about the park or look at pictures before I went so I was almost pretty much surprised when I got there.

Let me just say that I was slightly disappointed by Harry Potter World.  It was WAAAYYY too small (and too crowded).  Don’t get me wrong, it was still awesome seeing Hogsmeade for the first time.  You get to feel like you’re in the movie.  Well sort of.  Minus all the British people and the fact that Jurassic Park land was right next to the castle.  I was expecting a whole Harry Potter park to itself, but I was definitely wrong.

Day 2 – We got to the park right when it opened, but we had to walk so far from where the taxi dropped us off to the front gate to where HP World is located.  The security check and HP World are on completely opposite sides of each other.  I think it was almost everyone’s plan to go to HP World first (I will call it HP World or HPW because the real name is too long).  By the time we got there, the line for the main attraction was 1 1/2 hours.

HPW is located at the Islands of Adventure, which is separate from Universal Studios.  At the Islands of Adventure where are different “lands” like HPW, Dr. Suess, comics, Jurassic Park, Marvel super heroes, to name a few.  The theme-ing of this park is pretty awesome, especially Dr. Suess and comic book area.  There are so many bright colors and everything is larger than life.  Again, we were in a rush everywhere, so I wasn’t able to take that many pictures.  Oh you, tour book schedule thing.

HPW has three rides and the Hogsmeade area.  I was only able to go to Olivander’s (once again because of my dad’s schedule and the 4593048242 people that were there).  Olivander’s has a wand demonstration where a few lucky kids get to go through Olivander’s wand selection.  The line can get long since only about 10 people are able to go in at a time.  After the short demonstration, you are led straight to the wand shop.  Yes, I bought a wand.  I don’t care what people think, I LOVE IT!  There’s a wand for almost every significant character, but in the end chose Hermione’s wand.  She’s my favorite character.


It’s better to go later in the day (which is what we did) to avoid the long lines at the shop and throughout HPW, since a lot of people make their way there first thing.  The first ride we went on was Harry Potter and the Forbidden Journey.  This is the main ride, so expect really long lines.  I wasn’t sure what to expect from the ride, but lets just say, I’ve never been on a ride like this before.  I did get really queasy on this ride though.  If the ride hadn’t stopped in the beginning for a few minutes (because it broke down), I would have felt even sicker.  Not good!  I get motion sick pretty easily, which makes me sad since I love going on roller coasters and all the other thrilling rides.

After that ride, the schedule told us to leave that area and come back to it later in the evening.  The next ride on the list was another popular ride at the park: Spiderman.  I was a little worried that I would get queasy again on this ride since I heard people saying that the Spiderman and Harry Potter rides were similar, but they weren’t.  Spiderman was WAAAAYYY better.  Apparently Spiderman is one of the best rides ever made and I must say, it’s pretty awesome.  I just said that I’ve never been on a ride like Harry Potter, well I’ve never been on a ride like Spiderman.  My whole family loved this ride more than Harry Potter.  If you ever have the chance, go on the ride, even if the wait is long.  It’s awesome.


After waiting in line for Spiderman for almost 2 hours, we were exhausted from standing so we went to get a snack and rest our feet.  We had a dinner reservation at 3:45 (yes… very very early) so we couldn’t really eat lunch.  We walked around for a while to find a ride to go on in between then and dinnertime.  We didn’t want to go on any water rides after yesterday’s incident, so we ended up going on Poseidon’s Adventures.  I guess you technically can’t go on it since it’s a show.

After the show was dinner!  (I love dinner.  It’s my favorite meal.  Actually, I love dessert.  Does that count as a meal though?)  We had a reservation at Mythos, a restaurant that won Best Theme Park Restaurant, six times in a row.  I honestly think that some of the restaurants at Disney World have better theme-ing than this restaurant, but I guess it’s all a matter of opinion.  I did a quick search and found out that they won best theme restaurants from 2003 – 2009.  


The inside of the restaurant.


The food took a while to come out, so by the time we were eating it was closer to our normal eating time.  I ordered the fish tacos, but I wasn’t a big fan of the type of fish they used.  My brother mentioned that he liked the truffle mushroom ravioli.  I tried taking pictures of the other dishes we had, but they turned out blurry.


Following dinner, we went to watch a show before going back to HPW.  It was still really crowded, but not as crowded as it was in the morning.  It was time to visit Olivander’s and try butterbeer!  The Harry Potter fangirl inside me was squealing   It was a must since we were in HPW.  My dad, who’s not that big of a Harry Potter fan, kept saying “butterbeer was only mentioned a couple times.  Why is it so popular?”  It’s because it’s something different, Dad.  And the fact that it was in the books.  I heard that butterbeer tastes like cream soda, but I don’t know what cream soda tastes like so to me, butterbeer tastes like a rootbeer float.


The last ride we went on was Flight of the Hippogriff.  It’s a little roller coaster that goes a lot faster than you think it goes.  The one con about this ride was the line.  It was getting really cold and they had all 8 or so of the fans on.  IT WAS FREEZING especially when you had to stand right in its path.  Not only was it cold, it was also a waste of energy.


We rode the Cat in the Hat ride in the Dr. Suess area before going home.  Did I mention that I was not prepared for the cold weather?  I wrote the same thin sweater four days in a row because I thought it wasn’t going to be that cold.  The wind was what made it super chilly.  The weather was in the high 50s/low 60s.  To some of you that’s not that cold, but to me that’s freezing.  Where I live, those are winter temperatures (yes, I’m a weakling).  Sidetracked… Anyway, we were really cold and tired so we decided to go back to the hotel.  My dad called us old people since we were always back at the hotel room by 9:00.

Tired life.  That’s what happens when you have 5 days to go to 5 theme parks.  3 more days to go.

So questions for you, have you been to Islands of Adventure?  How was your trip?

2 comments

  1. Kellene Elise

    My family is starting to plan a trip to Florida for next year and I told them my ONLY requirement is that we go to Harry Potter World! Oh this makes me so excited!! :)

Leave a Reply

