Inspiration Sundays

All I want to do is make better sushi.  I do the same thing over and over, improving bit by bit.  There is always a yearning to achieve more.  I’ll continue to climb, trying to reach the top… but no one knows where the top is.”

-Jiro Ono, Jiro Dreams of Sushi (2011)

Recently, I was thinking about the documentary, Jiro Dreams of Sushi,  and although I don’t like sushi, Jiro has a lot of words of wisdom for anyone.  I think one of the most powerful quotes that made me think is the quote above.  He is always striving for perfection, but no one knows what perfection is.  The way I see it, you should always better yourself, continue learning and grow as a person, because there is no clear cut definition of the word perfection.  You may think you’ve achieved perfection, but there is always room to grow.  While people may think Jiro has achieve perfection in the world of sushi, he doesn’t believe so.  He believes that he can improve his craft.

This made me think about my passions and what I want to do with my life.  At this moment, I’m still not completely sure what that dream job is, or if I can actually attain that dream job.  I know one thing for sure though, I have to promise myself to always keep reaching for the best I can be.  There is no such thing as a plateau, because there is always something I can work on.  Being more organized, more efficient, more well-spoken.  Exercise more, read more, eat healthier, love more and the list goes on and on.  Everyone has goals, whether it’s big (becoming a CEO) or small (cleaning the bathroom).  It’s up to us to work towards those goals.  Some will take a lot more time than other, but we have to keep going and keep our heads up high no matter how hard the road to that goal may get.  But, even when we achieve that goal, there is still more we can work on.

Once you decide on your occupation, you have to immerse yourself in your work.  You have to fall in love with your work.  Never complain about your work.  You must dedicate your life to mastering your skill.  That’s the secret to success… And the key to being regarded honorably.”

-Jiro Ono

This quote is also one that I love.  However, not only do I want to immerse myself in work, I want to immerse myself in family.  Nowadays, people are so invested in work that they would rather work than be with their families.  This is a reason why many families and relationships fall apart.  I value friends and family over work or any other activities.  I will always put my family and friends first.  It’s not worth it to lose these people.  Nonetheless, I will immerse myself in family, friends and work.  Fall in love with them all.

If you’ve never seen Jiro Dreams of Sushiyou should watch it.  It’s a really good documentary about an amazing man.

Leave a Reply

