My Reads

Credit

I finally finished a book!  One super slow step to my goal.  Speaking of which, I don’t even remember my goal.  I think I said something like read 30 books by the end of the year.  At this rate, I’m not going to reach that goal considering all the things that are going to happen within the next year.

The first book I read was The Rook by Daniel O’Malley.  Mark’s sister bought him this book for Christmas and he told me that it was similar to Harry Potter.  One of the critics said this book was a combination of Harry Potter, Ghostbusters, and War of the Worlds.  After I read the words, Harry Potter, I knew I had to give this book a chance.

I loved this book!  I loved how it was the supernatural mixed into real life.  The main character’s name is Myfanwy Thomas, which is different in itself.  Within the first pages, the book is already moving with action.  Who is Myfanwy Thomas?  Why is she here?  Or not here?  Even though it took me a long time to finish this book, I was engrossed in the pages I was reading.  There was a lot of action and mystery throughout the whole book.  There wasn’t a single dull page.  Everything you learn is interconnected in the story somehow.  However, I was slightly disappointed with the ending.  I thought it was a little flat.  There was all this action building up to the end, but it kind of just… stopped.  I did read though that the author is writing a sequel to the book, which may be a reason why the end just stopped.

This novel is filled with superpowers and the everyday life of working in an office.  One minute Myfanwy is working at her desk, the next she could be battling some weird blobby three headed dragon.  (Okay, she doesn’t in this book, but it comes close!).  There is no romance, so if you’re looking for that, this is not your book.  If you like secret lives, superpowers, and weird blobby three headed dragons, then this is your book!  I would recommend this book to anyone who loves fantasy, going beyond normal life.  I give this book a 4.5/5 stars.  The 0.5 deduction is just because of the ending.  Other than that, you should read this book!  Someone needs to tell me when the sequel comes out because I’ll definitely read it!

The next book I picked up is 1Q84 by my favorite author Haruki Murakami.  My favorite book ever is Kafka on the Shore, written by this author.  There is a certain way he writes that is so beautiful.  He’s so descriptive with his words, it paints a clear picture in your mind of what he’s talking about.  Not only are his descriptions clear, they are also beautiful and flow perfectly.  Kafka is my favorite book because it’s so different from anything I’ve ever read.  It’s both natural and unnatural, with hidden meanings all over the place.  I’ve read online that you’re supposed to read the book many times in order see different ideas and descriptions that you missed before.  There’s a hidden meaning to the story and I have my own interpretation of it.  If you’ve read Kafka before and would like to talk to me about what you though, feel free to email me!  I would love to talk to you about it!  I’m planning on rereading this book some time soon, and with a different perspective.

Back to 1Q84, I got this book as a Secret Santa gift and am super excited to read it.  I’m not really sure what it’s about since I haven’t read any summaries of it, but I think I’ll just keep going with not knowing what this book is about and see where it takes me.

What books have you been reading?  I’m always looking for new books to put on my reading list.  I WILL get through all of these books. I need to stick to my goal!

Leave a Reply

