This Summer: Goodbye America, Hello…

I’ve been thinking over and over again, how to write this post, because it’s basically the post that will jump start where I want my blog to go.  If you’ve been reading our posts or are following us on Twitter, we’ve dropped a ton of hints.  Mark even mentioned what was going to happen in his recent post.  I think it’s about time I mention it!  This summer, I will be doing on of the biggest things I’ve ever done in my life.  This could possibly be THE biggest thing I’ve ever done in my life: I’m moving to Japan.  

The picture above is one of a few pictures that I can find right now from my Japan trip back in 2008.  I think that’s my dad’s head at the bottom of the picture.  He always gets in the way of my pictures!

Back in November, I applied to the JET Program.  I’ve known for a year or two that this was my number one choice after I graduated from college.  I wanted nothing more than to go to Japan and teach English.  Not only do I love Japan and travelling, it would be a great experience teaching since one of my future goals is to become an elementary school teacher.  Actually one of my bucket list goals was to live in another country for at least a year.  This was the perfect opportunity to travel, teach, and live in another country!

After turning in the application, we had to wait a long three months to hear if we got an interview.  I was walking home from school when I got the email and I was so excited!  A few weeks later was the interview.  I will do a separate post about my interview experience, but lets just say, it was not good.  Lets just say, it ended with me crying in my car.  I was devastated, because when you want something so much and you think you screw it up, you just feel defeated.

At that point, I wasn’t expecting too much since I didn’t think my interview went well.  At the end of April, I was sitting on my bed at home by myself when my phone chimed.  I looked at it and saw that JET had emailed me: JET Program Results.  OMG.  I put my phone down as quickly as I could.  I couldn’t do it.  I couldn’t look at the email.  I had already prepared myself for the worst, but it was real.  The email was finally there.  I took a deep breath and opened it.

I got in.  

I couldn’t feel any emotions because so many emotions where running through my body.  Was I happy?  Excited?  Shocked?  I had no idea!  I felt all of those things and more at the same time.  I literally reread the email like 8 times, before I confirmed, this is totally real.  I then proceeded to spazz text everyone that knew I was waiting for the email.  I GOT IN!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!  I couldn’t believe it!  I’m actually going to be moving to Japan and teach English!

Even after I got the email, it didn’t hit me that it was actually going to happen.  Even know as I type this, I still think this is all a dream.  However, as I get more and more emails from the program, it gets more and more real.  I now know what grades I will be teaching and where I will be living.  I’m will be leaving at the end of July.  A new adventure.  A new life.  New experiences everyday.  I can’t wait to explore my city, all the other cities, the country, everything.

Now, there is one huge downside to this.  One that rips a hole in my heart every time I think about it.  That is, Mark and I will have to be apart for a year.  He also wants to teach in Japan, but he won’t be able to go this year.  Every time I think about the fact that he won’t be there to comfort me when I’m sad, calm me when I’m stressed, or make funny faces with me makes me sad.  This will be the biggest challenge, because we’ve never been apart for more than a month.  Even when we were apart, we were at least in the same time zone.  We could call, text, or skype each other whenever we wanted.  I will be over 5,000 miles away, living in the future.  With every passing day, I cherish every second that I have with him.  (I started crying as I wrote this post at this point…).  I’m going to try not to think these thoughts right now!

Going back to happier thoughts, but yes!  This will be the beginning of my new adventures.  You will be seeing different types of posts, pictures, and thoughts, once I move to Japan!  I’m so excited that my blog will also be incorporating more travel!  It’s something that I’ve always wanted to write about and showcase.

Stay tuned for more stories!  If you’re interested, I plan on tweeting a lot about my adventures.  You can follow and connect with me @_sweetsmores!  I love tweeting.

7 comments

  1. Pingback: Weekly Wishes #4 | Sweet Smores
  2. Kristyn @ Milk + Crown

    Mallory, congrats!!! This is SUCH awesome news :) I’m so glad you will be able to check so many goals/dreams off your list through this experience. The next year will be full of awesome things, and I hope the transition there goes smoothly for you. Exploring another country, and actually getting the chance to live there and fully embrace it, is a once in a lifetime thing. I can’t wait to hear about your awesome adventures!

    I know leaving Mark will be really hard; up until this summer, Eric and I were doing long-distance, and for half of it, we were 1,000 miles apart. I know it’s not the same, but I can relate to what you’re probably feeling. But it’s so obvious that the love you and Mark share is true, selfless and unconditional. This year will be a great time for both of you to grow individually, and I’m sure you’ll discover a lot of wonderful things about yourself and your relationship :) I’ll definitely be keeping you–and Mark!–in my thoughts and prayers :)

    • markandmal

      Aww, thank you so much Kristyn! I appreciate your support! You’re so sweet :) I’m definitely trying to look on the bright side of everything: travelling, living on my own, being a part from Mark. I feel that it’s best to look to the bright side so I have things to look forward to like, growing as a person and discovering a lot about myself and my relationship. I know this will be an amazing experience and I know that we’ll be reunited there soon enough :)

      On Wed, Jul 10, 2013 at 6:25 AM, Sweet Smores

  3. Erika

    Wow, getting into the JET Programme is HUGE! That’s a wonderful honor! CONGRATULATIONS!!!!! How exciting! But I also understand how it’s a little bittersweet — especially to be away from the one you love (and in a different time zone) for so long! It’ll be challenging, for sure, but it’s also the opportunity of a lifetime! Can’t wait to read about your adventures!

Leave a Reply

