Weekly Wishes #4

Weekly Wishes

Another week has passed and I am one week closer to making the biggest move of my life.  Yesterday, I posted about it after weeks of having it saved in my drafts.  I finally decided that it was time to face the reality that it is actually going to happen.  I’m moving to Japan! *cue 4893204 different emotions*

Before I go into my new goals, last week my weekly goals included spending time with friends and family and going on a hike.  I kind of failed with the hike… I barely left my house this week.  The only times I went out was to eat or to pick Mark up.  We were going to see Despicable Me, but it was sold out at the time, so hopefully we’ll be able to see it this week!  Minion love!!  I did spend a lot of time with my family!  I had my graduation party last weekend and got to see family and friends that I haven’t seen in a long time.  It was nice to be able to share this celebration with these great people.

For the rest of the week, my family and I ate together, had family game night with Mark twice, and I visited my Grandma, Uncle, and cousins.  I always love family game night.  We have a ton of fun.  We usually play Trivial Pursuit and it’s so hard.  Most of the question cards we have were made in the 80s, sooooo yeah.  My parents have way more knowledge about those years and before.  We did beat my parents one time!  2-1.  Lets go!  We can beat them again!

 photo weekly-wishes-button-yellow_zps120202d2.jpg

I’m going to keep with the same goals for this week, because it means a lot to me to spend time with friends and family (and my cat!) before I leave.  I’m pretty sure we’ll have more family game nights and food (and maybe another Vegas trip?!).  Just anything to be with my family and friends.  Another aspect to this that I want to add is to remain off my phone during the times I’m spending with family and friends.  I noticed that some times I’m on my phone even when there’s no reason to be.  I’m so mad at myself for doing that.  This week and beyond, I will put my phone aside and give 110% to these awesome people.  I don’t want to feel like I always have to be connected via phone with people because it’s way too much of a distraction.  We all need a break from our phones some times because it’s just a diversion from enjoying those precious moments.

Also, another one of my goals for the week is to start reviewing Japanese.  I took Japanese for a year in college, but that was almost two years ago, so I’m a little rusty.  Not that I knew a lot of Japanese to begin with!  I’m pretty sure I talk like a toddler.  I’m going to try to review as much as I can and go through the Japanese book JET sent us, hopefully I will be able to remember some things.

Oh, and I’m still determined to go on that hike!

Have a great week :)

15 comments

  1. Naomi

    I love the idea of removing yourself from your phone while spending time with family and friends! It’s such a small, small thing, but it means SO much!

    • markandmal

      I agree. When I do leave my phone at home or just put it away, it makes a huge difference! I feel like I have a lot more fun doing whatever I’m doing :)

      On Mon, Jul 8, 2013 at 12:15 PM, Sweet Smores

  2. Sydney

    I definitely agree with the phone thing! I kind of kick myself about it sometimes. I didn’t put 100% attention onto my friends and family before I moved from the states to Okinawa with my husband. I wish I had, because my heart aches for them so much being here.

    Where to in Japan? It’s quite a move, I’ll tell you that! Maybe I should have attempted to learn the language, but seeing as Okinawa is made of quite a few military bases, a lot of the locals can speak enough English for us to get by. I only know a few words, but even those few get me quite a few smiles from the locals, which is always nice! Good luck on your move. Japan is quite the place.

    • markandmal

      I realize we all do it. I always see people at restaurants on their phones and not talking to each other and I’m like, “What’s the point?” I really don’t want to be like that and I’m trying my hardest! I think I’ll just leave my phone in the car or something and not bring it to me to places.

      Oh! You live in Okinawa? I hope that some day I get to visit there. I’m part Okinawan so I hope to see where my ancestors are from :) I will be living in Mie Prefecture. The city I’m in is about an hour from Nagoya and 2 hours from Kyoto.

      Thank you so much! This is definitely the biggest thing I’ve ever done!

  3. daisybisley

    Totally agree with the phone thing. Sometimes I’m not even doing anything on it, just find myself vacantly scrolling through Facebook of feeds. I feel awful about it and realise I’m not giving someone my full attention. So I’ll be taking a leaf from your book this week and putting it away. Best of luck with the Japanese and enjoy your hike! :)

    • markandmal

      I know what you mean. I’m always scrolling through Twitter and it’s always the same tweets and I know that no one is going to message me, but for some reason I still look through it. It’s a terrible habit! I hope we can both stay away from our phones when we need to :) I’m sure it’ll make us feel a lot better and we’ll be able to enjoy our company. And thank you!

  4. ☆ Bea ☆ (@twenty1aces)

    After reading your post, I thought about how often I am on my phone. I then realized how much I check my phone. But to be fair, it’s not as often as I used to since I’ve started working out more often. Still, I think it’s a good idea to try and be more personal iin your interactions with people as opposed to being attached to your phone. Btw, you and Mark should drive up to NorCal for a hike. There are a lot of great options for hiking trails there. =)

    • markandmal

      It’s weird because when I’m at home, I hardly check my phone. It’s once I go outside in the world that I start checking it. Mark lives in NorCal so it’d be a great excuse to go up there! There are so many things to do there and so much nature :) I really want to go white water rafting.

  5. Melanie Fontaine (@MelanieFangting)

    Good luck on your move! That’s so exciting! I’ll be moving to Norway in a few short weeks, so I absolutely get your goal! I hope to be spending a lot of time with my family and friends before I leave as well – that will probably be my goal for next week! :) Have a good time and good luck!

    xx
    Melanie

    • markandmal

      Thank you! How exciting for you too! That sounds so fun. I hope you have a great time there. Good luck on your move!

      On Tue, Jul 9, 2013 at 12:07 PM, Sweet Smores

  6. Pingback: Weekly Wishes #5 | Sweet Smores

Leave a Reply

