Weekly Wishes #5

Weekly Wishes

Oh, doesn’t that look so delicious?  Welcome to Weekly Wishes: Food Edition!  I got the idea for this after I tweeted about food.  But before I get into that, lets review the past week.

My goals from last week included spending time with friends and family, while remaining off my phone, and studying Japanese.  I’m happy to say that it was a success!  I put spent minimal time on my phone the past week.  The times I did use it were when I was by myself.  I’m proud of myself!  I would usually check my phone even when there was no need to.  I would just scroll up and down Facebook and Twitter even though I knew that no one would be in contact with me.  This is a bad habit I really want to break because it takes time from being with other people.  Not to mention, it’s a big time waster overall.  The past week, I also spent more time with my family and friends all over the place.  It was a fun and productive week and I would like to continue this for the next two weeks.  Although, I’m a little sad we didn’t have family game night.  This week, for sure!

As for Japanese, I studied for a few hours (in total… that’s probably not that good for learning a language…) and watched my dramas.  Hey, I consider watching dramas as studying.  I mean, I’m practicing my listening skills right?  I will continue reviewing and watching this week.  If you have any advice on studying languages, please let me know!  I feel like I’m terrible at it.  It takes me forever to remember grammar points and vocabulary or to come up with sentences when I’m speaking.  Listening is a whole different ball game.  It’s my goal, eventually, to be able to understand and speak Japanese, so I have to keep striving to keep learning!

 photo weekly-wishes-button-yellow_zps120202d2.jpg

What’s in store for this week?  What does ‘Food Edition’ mean?  Okay, my goal for this week isn’t all that inspiring or sentimental, but earlier I tweeted this:

That basically sums up one of my goals for the next two weeks: eat everything I can’t eat in Japan.  Melyssa pitched in and told me, eat Mexican and sandwiches.  Those foods I really love, so I will definitely have to start on those.

My goals for this week: Eat.  Hangout.  Study Japanese.

6 comments

    • markandmal

      Thanks! I intend to eat as much as I can :) Yes! I’ll probably end up doing a collage of everything I eat.

      On Mon, Jul 15, 2013 at 10:28 PM, Sweet Smores

  1. Erika

    Now this is a goal that I can really get into! YUMMMMMMMY!

    As for tips for learning a language? Well, in addition to all of my tips on what NOT to do while learning a foreign language (haha), I would start thinking of the things that you speak about and express on a daily basis. Think about the vocabulary it would take to get to make friends and the things you’ll talk about and start expressing it. I find that language goes much better in my head than when I actually speak it, so getting as comfortable as possible with some key phrases that you use a lot may really help!

    • markandmal

      Oh boy, I need to start thinking of everyday conversations! My goal was to learn like 5 new words every day (I’m terrible at remembering vocab) along with reviewing all the vocab I learned from classes. I need to find a way to practice speaking. I always start panicking when I start talking to other people in another language. I’m already socially awkward talking English, talking in another language is even worse haha! I’m checking out your post after I reply!

      On Tue, Jul 16, 2013 at 7:43 PM, Sweet Smores

  2. Allie

    Haha if we’re making goals, that’s the way to do it! But with Japanese (or any foreign language), watching tv or a movie isn’t bad at all! Try to go without subtitles–that can be tricky! But it’s definitely still good. And staying off of your phone was such a great idea for a goal. I’m a little antisocial and in social situations, I find myself on my phone to avoid talking to people allll the time. Maybe I should follow your example! :)

    Allie / callmesassafras.wordpress.com

    • markandmal

      I should try without subtitles, but I feel like I can only pick out a few words every now and then. I don’t think I’m good enough to understand full sentences yet, even if it’s just one sentence like every 5 minutes :( I always find myself on my phone especially when in social situations, because I have a hard time making small talk with people haha. It’s a big weakness of mine and it’s such an important thing!

Leave a Reply

