My Weekly Wishes + New Beginnings

Weekly Wishes

It’s here.  My last week in the US! *cue a rush of emotions*  I can’t believe the time has come for me to pack and move across the world.  I’m still in shock that this is actually going to happen.  I still feel like I’m going to go back to school to study and I’ll see all my friends every day.  The reality is, I graduated… OMG.  And the other reality is I’m moving across the world (ahhhh!!!!!!).  I still need to pack, I still need to go to Target to get like 34982032 things, and I’m pretty sure there are things I need to do that I can’t think of right now.

Lets talk about the past week first.  It was super eventful both in real life and online.  Last week, my goals were to eat, hang out, and study Japanese.  I’m happy to say I was successful with all three of those goals!

Eat: I began eating all the foods I love that I won’t be able to eat in Japan: garlic chicken sandwich, boba, my mom’s homemade cookies, Mexican food, Chipotle, and the list goes on!

food

Hangout: I spent a lot of time with my friends and family, doing game nights, talking over great food, and going on hikes.  I’m so glad to have great family and friends that it’s hard to say ‘see you later’ to them.

Study Japanese: 日本語を勉強しました!もって勉強します。

Also I’ve finally made the move to a domain name and self hosting!  This wasn’t one of my weekly goals, but something I’ve been working on for the past month.  The 5 minute installation on WordPress turned into a 3 1/2 hour installation, with phone calls and live chats, but after the stress and frustration of installing WordPress, I DID IT!  I’m pretty proud that I almost figured it out all by myself and I stuck with it until the end.  I guess, this is the official welcome to sweetsmores.com!  I never got around to making a post, but I hope you enjoy where the blog is going and I appreciate everyone who stays and reads our posts :)  It really means a lot.  Stay tuned, because more things will be changing in the very near future!

I’m kind of sad that all my comments didn’t transfer over.  For some reason when I installed Disqus (which I love by the way), it only imported half of my comments.  I’m going to have to leave it that way because I can’t figure out how else import the rest of the comments :(

Weekly WishesNow for my goals for this week.  Honestly, my goal for this week is to try to keep my crying to a minimum.  Every time I’m with Mark, I break into tears at the thought of having to leave.  I especially don’t want to be a big snotty, crying mess at the airport in front of a hundred people I don’t know.  It’s hard for me to even cry in front of my friends, so I’m not sure how I’ll be comforted by strangers.  It’s inevitable that I will cry, especially when I say see you later to Mark, but I need to keep telling myself that this is only a see you later.  From now on, I’ll only think positive thoughts to try to avoid getting sad and teary eyed.  I wrote about why I’m being positive in this situation and I truly believe it’ll help make this move so much easier.  I honestly need a lot of positive messages, because they really help :) They make me feel so much better and put a smile on my face.  Even if I don’t know you, it’s always nice to hear someone cheer you on.

It’s crazy to think that by the next Weekly Wishes, I’ll be settled into my apartment in Japan!  HOLY MOLY!  I probably won’t be able to post next Monday since I’ll be busy at orientations and moving, so you’ll find out if I ended up being a big snotty, crying mess in two weeks.  I hope you all have a great week and succeed in your goals!

22 comments

  1. Kayte

    WOW! Good luck with your move! I’ll be sending positive energy your way, girlie ♥
    Also, congrats on getting WordPress installed! I am so fortunate to have a dad who’s a web programmer and provides tech support to me whenever I need it, haha. He did all of my WordPress moving because he works on WordPress sites all the time and knows the system inside out. I can’t imagine if I had to do it myself! THAT would make me a big, snotty, crying mess!

    • Mallory

      Thank you! I appreciate the positive energy. It means a lot! :) Oh my gosh, it would have been so much easier if I had someone who knew a little something about WordPress. I guess, I overcame a technology feat that I didn’t think I could do haha.

  2. Crystal Turpin

    Oh, baby girl! I understand the crying thing….I’m moving BACK to the states and it’s breaking my heart. You can do it and it’s going to be an amazing adventure! Also I couldn’t stop laughing when you described your wordpress experience….I call shenanigans on that 5 minute install…I messed it up and a friend had to do it for me! I’m excited to see how Japan treats you and keep smiling. :)

    • Mallory

      Good luck on your move back! I’ve never had to experience having to part with someone for a bit and it’s super tough. Thank you so much your support!

      I honestly have no idea how I got WordPress to work. When I finished it, I was so confused. I was like, “Is it installed?” I think I was expecting some kind of “YOU DID IT!” message, but the installation just kind of happened haha.

      • Crystal Turpin

        Thank you and it’s going to be a hard period, but I can do it! I think! >.>

        Also, yea…whatever, wordpress. I was like why do I need to pay and do this and all of that, UGH. But now I love it because I don’t need to worry about FTP transfers. I think only 5 min installs are for geniuses. Yup!

  3. Betsy Gettis

    Congrats girl! Have an awesome time moving and getting settled in! I totally get feeling like crying all the time. My boyfriend is moving to Boston in a few weeks and while it’s definitely not as far as Japan, thinking about moving into a long distance relationship and not having him here all the time just makes me a little sad.

    • Mallory

      Thank you! Aww, we’re definitely experiencing the same thing. Just thinking about the distance makes it really hard, but I’m happy to know that there are other people that have gone through or are going through a long distance relationship and they’re just fine. It is really hard knowing that he won’t be around all the time. For me, I’m looking towards our goals and why we’re going to work hard for each other through our time apart. I think it’ll help me a little more with the distance.

  4. Allie Seelig

    Aww good luck, dear! I don’t know how long you’re gonna be away from him but I know it’s hard. I’m in a long-distance relationship and it can be so hard. But I’m sure you can do it! Just think of this as your next great adventure! xx

    Allie / callmesassafras.wordpress.com

    • Allie Seelig

      P.S. I’m trying to transfer my blog to self-hosted. Mind if I fire some questions your way? It is SO confusing.

      • Mallory

        Sure! I hope I can be a help. I feel like what I did was luck, but I’ll do my best to answer the questions you have :)

    • Mallory

      Thank you for your support! We’ll be apart for a year, but it could change. I’m hoping it will! I would love to be able to talk to you and support each other with the long distance relationship, because I think it’ll be easier knowing that others are going through it and are surviving. I just have to keep positive and like you said, think of it as my next great adventure!

  5. Elizabeth Than

    I know it’s tough (it will only get tougher) when a big movement in life happens. Just keep telling yourself, they will always be there. With the advanced technology we have these days, our loved ones are just clicks away! Have fun and good luck!

    • Mallory

      Thank you for your kind words :) I’m really grateful for technology because now there are sooo many ways to keep in touch with people. Of course it isn’t the same as being there in person, but at least you can talk to another person in real time! It’s so much better than in the old days when mail would take weeks.

  6. Erika

    WHOA!!! Wow, you leave SO SOON! I am soooooo excited for you and I can’t wait to hear about all of your adventures!

    I am so glad that your week went well and that you got in lots of good food and hangout time!!!! :)

    Also, happy housewarming, haha! :) Your own domain — that is pretty major!!! :) And it is :( that the other comments have disappeared, but at least you did it before you went to Japan! :) Hopefully all of these ones will be saved from here on out! YAYYYYYYYYY!

    But you can do it! You are about to have the time of your life! And have you ever been to Melanie Fontaine‘s blog? She’s in a similar boat as you — getting ready to move next week for a year away! I think you two would really get along!

    • Mallory

      Yes I do! Ahhhhh! I can’t believe it’s going to be happening so soon. Thank you so much for your support! It means a lot! And thanks for the housewarming :) it’s a nice feeling to have your own domain name! I can’t wait to update the blog with all my new adventures.

      I’ve been emailing Melanie and we were like, “we’re pretty much moving at the same time, going through the same things!” I’m so glad to know that there are other people out there going through the same things.

  7. FoundLove_Blog

    I am really excited for you and all your adventures!! You have some super exciting times ahead… feel free to shout if you need someone to talk to!! =)

    • Mallory

      Hi Belinda! Thank you so much for your support! It means a lot. I know who to go to if I need a talk. You’re super sweet and you definitely know how to make someone feel better! :)

  8. Mel @ The Nectar Collective

    Mallory!!!!! You are living my life, girl. I had a boy when I came to Japan too (definitely nothing like you and Mark, but it WAS very tearful to leave him) and I was just all sorts of sad about realizing I graduated and then suddenly jetting on a plane to come to Japan. Don’t be afraid to cry in the airport. None of the people around you matter. HAHA. But really. It’s all you baby! This is your experience. I hope you get through the first week without too many tears and I’m soso excited for this incredible growing and learning process you’re about to start! If you need a hug during orientation, just drop me a line and I’ll be there in a jiffy – I live in Tokyo. :) Here’s the first post I wrote just a few days after coming to Japan: http://thenectarcollective.com/2011/07/keepin-it-real-in-japan/
    Maybe it’ll make you a little more excited :) Eat lots of burritos while you still can!!!

    • Mallory

      Thank you for your encouragement! I love reading comments like this and from everyone else, because it makes me feel so much better about the move. People are cheering me on yay! I’m feeling fine right now, but I’m pretty sure Thursday through Saturday is going to be waterfalls everywhere haha! But I’m super excited and I can’t wait for all this to happen! It’s going to be great. Oh my gosh, we should totally meet up some day! That would be fun, either if it’s cause I’m dying at orientation (okay, that’s not fun) or some other time!

      I just read your post and I laughed when you were talking about your toilet and the repair guy haha! Thanks for linking it!

Leave a Reply

