Thoughts: Living in the World of Sushi, Cherry Blossoms, and Anime

Japancr: The Guardian

Okay, there’s more to Japan than sushi, cherry blossoms, and anime, but those were the first three things that came to mind as I typed the title of this post.  Other things that pop into my mind are mostly food… ramen, curry, yakisoba, udon.  I love noodles.  Okay, moving on from food.

I saw Taylor’s post about going to South Africa and I thought, what am I worried about or what will be different about moving to Japan?  I’ve gathered some of my thoughts about moving.

  1. The language barrier – Will I be able to survive barely knowing any Japanese?  I will be in a small town where I’m sure foreigners aren’t present.  I need to keep reviewing and studying!  My plan is to try to study at least three days a week.  It’s always been a dream of mine to be fluent in another language.
  2. On having an actual job – I’m a working woman now!  I’m going to be working for my own money and living off of it.  This is a first!  I hope it’ll be an easy transition to the working hours.  I still feel like a little kid that has to go to school, so hopefully I can fit into the working world lifestyle.  I’m totally not a morning person, so we’ll see how this goes.
  3. Making friends – I always worry about this no matter what I’m doing.  I’m always afraid that I won’t make any friends and I’ll be super lonely!  This time more than any, I’m worried for this.  I will need people to distract me from being homesick and being Mark-sick (I’m pretty sure that will become a thing eventually).  I want to surround myself with great people and awesome activities to be busy.
  4. Seasons! – For the first time in my life, I will be experiencing season changes!  Here in Southern California, it’s pretty much summer all year long.  There are no leaves changing colors, no snow, no super blossom-y flowers, and barely any rain.  There are palm trees lining my street, so there’s is no way they’re changing to firery colors.  And I don’t even own an umbrella or rain jacket!  As you can see, experiecing seasons in Japan is going to be TOTALLY different.  I’m kind of worried how I will handle the cold weather and snow though… But I’m excited for it! (Kind of…)
  5. Travel – how often will I be able to travel?  A reason why I wanted to live in Japan was to travel around the beautiful country as well as go to other countries in Asia.  I love traveling and I hope that my schedule (and my salary) will let me go to all the places I want to visit.

These are a few things that have been on my mind lately about moving to Japan.  There are a lot more things I’m thinking about and will mention in future posts.  Even when I move there, I’m pretty sure that there will be a ton of things I’ll be confused about!  I’m already confused about the whole separating your trash thing.

3 comments

  1. Erika

    Aww! Well, I definitely feel like these worries are natural! :) It’ll be really interesting over time to see how you feel about these things as you adjust to living there! So excited for you!

Leave a Reply

