Weekly Wishes #6

Weekly Wishes

And I’m back!  I missed last week because I one ginormous blur, but I think things have slowed down a teensy weensy super microscopic bit.  Two weeks ago, I was sitting at my home in California, nervous and excited about moving across the world.  My Weekly Wishes for that week were basically to not cry too much.  I didn’t want to be a crying mess at the airport.  I only mentioned the airport, because I knew I’d be one huge crying mess when I said goodbye to Mark, which was probably the hardest thing I’ve had to do so far.  But I have to keep telling myself it wasn’t a goodbye, it was just a see you later.  Right after I said see you later, I had to drive an hour to LA… crying.  THAT IS DANGEROUS, CHILDREN.  Crying and driving.  It’s hard to see… Not good.  I was trying to be strong, but I just couldn’t do it.  Unfortunately, I had to go to orientation instead of just going home and crying there.

Okay, enough about crying!

My goals for this week?  Make progress on my yearlong Japan goals.   I will try to study Japanese this week and learn at least 20 new vocabulary words.  I’ve never been so motivated to study a language, ever.  Maybe the fact that I have no idea what people are talking about around me has something to do with it, but I’m super motivated to start learning as much as I can and make my way to becoming conversational.

Go out and explore my town more.  I’m partly blaming my lack of a bicycle on why I haven’t gone out very much into my town.  I’ve been to the market everyday this past week, but that’s about it.  Another excuse is that IT’S WAAAYYY TOO HOT AND HUMID.  It’s like the sun is out to burn off my skin and the humidity wants me to drain my body’s water supply.  It gets cooler, an hour or two after I get off work, which leaves about an hour or so to explore.  I will finally go out there and see what kinds of restaurants and shops are here.

Get over my fear of eating alone.  Okay.  I think this has to do with the fact that eating by yourself is uncool.  I mean, who wanted to eat by themselves in the cafeteria?  Raise your hand.  Anyone?  This is basically that same fear.  It’s not really a fear, more like being self-conscious.  Are people really going to judge me?  Probably not.  They probably don’t care.  I won’t be able to try any of the restaurants here if I don’t get over this!  I’m by myself most of the time and I’m already tired of my simple cooking.  I just need to go out there and eat.

Those are my goals for the week.  They are pretty reasonable and involve traveling and experiencing new things (things I love!).  I hope you have a great and productive week!

Weekly Wishes

16 comments

    • Mallory

      Aww, thank you! That was the hardest thing I’ve had to do. The most we were apart before this was about 3 weeks, so that’s nothing compared to 6 months and a year. All the best to you and your husband!

  1. Katherine Nolden

    These are solid wishes! I totally get the eating alone thing! Maybe it would be easier to start if you brought a book or your Japanese vocab! It might ease you into the eating alone and you can read/study up instead of watching people chew! Haha! Good luck this week! And on exploring your town? You’ll do it and it will probably yield some fantastic pictures!! Blog post? I think so!

    • Mallory

      That’s a great idea! I’ll definitely have to bring my Japanese material (I don’t have any books here… yet…) and I’ll study and eat. I finally was able to see other parts of my town and it looks sooo pretty. I’m going to have to bike out to some places and take pictures. You’ll definitely see them on here sooner or later :)

  2. Angela Wiebe

    Bring a book when you have to eat alone it always makes that feeling go away and you can disappear into whatever story your reading!!

    • Mallory

      Will do! I need to go out and buy some new books. I hardly make the time to read, so I think this will be a great time to get some reading in.

  3. Erika

    1. Aww, you are so cute!!! I just have this image of you crying and driving, which is funny to imagine but painful to actually experience! But it’s totally understandable — this is such a huge thing for you! But it will totally strengthen your relationship!

    2. Yay for your year-long goals and focusing on language learning. Have you ever been to Fluent in 3 Months? He has REALLY GOOD advice about learning languages and quickly. Follow Benny’s advice and you may end up reaching your goals much more quickly than you thought! :) (His site is such a wealth of information — it’s easy to spend a lot of time there.) Here, I have found a couple of links that might suit your interest to start off with: How to make the transition from typical English-speaking tourist to local language speaking expat, and Perfectionist Paralysis, and How to convince natives to speak to you in their language.

    3. I am loooooving these new goals! This is making me wish I had weekly wishes when I was in France — I think I would have gotten more out of my time there, to be honest (though I loved it and learned so much anyway)! I think that forcing yourself to get out and explore is a wonderful idea and I think I need to do that even here at home. (But that doesn’t sound like fun in the heat, to be honest.) And about eating alone: it feels scary, but like you said, just go out and try. Bring a book or something to help you occupy your time. Maybe go to busy places where people are less likely to know you’re alone? Or you could try some new places with a couchsurfer. That way, you’re making new friends AND going to try new restaurants. Or pretend that you’re a restaurant reviewer/travel blogger, bring your camera, and make it look like you’re doing work and that’s why you’re alone. :))))

    Soooo I think it’s official that I love your blog because this comment is longer than your post, hahahahaha. :) Best wishes this week Mallory and I’m so excited about your time in Japan!

    • Mallory

      Haha thinking back on it, I probably looked ridiculous driving and crying. We’re doing okay so far, but I think once the months go by it’s going to get harder and harder.

      I think I came across Fluent in 3 Months once, but I didn’t really browse around. I need to now! 3 months is crazy fast and I’m open to any advice to learning more quickly. I feel like some of my co-workers really want me to learn quickly. My supervisor even told the girl I work with, “You two should speak in Japanese to each other.” I was like, “WHAT?!” As much as I would love to speak in Japanese to them, I don’t know enough vocab. Thank you for those links! I have something to read later :)

      I finally got to see more of my town today when they were driving me to my schools. It’s such a pretty place! I mean, I’d totally not live in a farm land back at home, but here, with the rice paddies (I think they’re rice anyways haha) with the mountains in the background, it’s beautiful! Such a good idea with the eating alone thing! I want to bring my camera anyways (possible for blog purposes) and I’ll probably bring my Japanese material or a book (when I buy one). You’re right, it’ll make me look like I’m busy and have a purpose to be there alone! Need to get over that self-consciousness!

      Oh my gosh. Thank you so much Erika! That means soooo much to me :) You’re the first person to ever say that so I shall remember you forever know ;) (awkward, creepy, winky face)

  4. Jessica Panian

    Saying goodbye or see you later is so difficult and I would be just the same way. With every day that passes though, it will get easier! I promise!

    Sometimes it is kind of nerve wracking to get out and explore on our own, but this is how you make a new place your home! Just try to explore a little further than you did the day before :) You’re in such an exciting place! My boyfriend is actually Japanese and he tells me about the unbearable heat, so I can understand why you wouldn’t want to be out all the time!

    Like you said, people don’t care! And you probably won’t see half of those people ever again, so bring a book or your camera and enjoy a good meal! There’s much to be had in Japan :)

    Good luck, and I can’t wait to see how you did next week!

    xoxo Jess
    Foreign Room

    • Mallory

      I love getting such nice words about getting through the long distance. They really make me happy :) Thank you!

      As I’m writing this, I’m sweating from the humidity! It’s crazy how humid it can be (and it’s even worse inside my apartment). Later in the day though, it’s more bearable, so maybe I’ll do some exploring before I go eat dinner. I was able to see more of my town today when we were visiting the schools I’ll be teaching in and it was so pretty with the rice fields and the mountains in the background. I’m happy I’ll be able to drive past that almost every day.

      Yes! I need to bring my camera! My blog needs some food pics haha!

      Thank you so much :) have a great week!

  5. Nino van Vuuren

    Taking a little motebook along and brainstorming some new blogpost ideas is an awesome way to not feel so awkward when dining out alone. We have really bad internet at home, so if I need some proper internet I often go to the nearest coffee shop en just sit there and blog. After a couple of times the awkwardness leaves you. And if you go to the same place often the staff will probably get to know you and start to greet you etc.

    • Mallory

      Ooh! This is a great idea. I think that will be a great way for me to get more ideas down and even begin to write. I didn’t think of that before, thanks for this!

  6. Kristyn @ Milk + Crown

    Eating by yourself takes courage but once you’re there doing it, it’s so much fun! You can snoop on so many people, enjoy your surroundings, and really appreciate the food and setting you’re in. I actually think it’s a much better way to enjoy a restaurant :) Go for it girl! Bring a book or your laptop if you feel awkward. I hope you meet your weekly goals girl! And ps. thanks for blogging about my #30in30jewelry project :)

    • Mallory

      People watching is fun! But I’m in such a small town that there probably won’t be many people eating out. I’ll bring a book or study material the first couple times I go out and see how I feel after!

      You’re welcome! :) Good luck with your project!

  7. Allie Seelig

    For eating by yourself, take your laptop or a book the first time if you feel awkward so you look busy and then slowly get off those so you’re eating just to eat. I actually really enjoy eating and doing things by myself, you’ve just gotta get over the weird factor. I can’t wait to hear more about your new town! xx

    Allie / callmesassafras.wordpress.com

    • Mallory

      I like doing some things by myself, but for some reason, eating alone has always been super weird to me. I’ll have to bring a book or my study material when I go!

Leave a Reply

