Expat to Expat Questions

I still can’t believe I’m considered an expat now.  I honestly didn’t know of that word until I got more into blogging and found an ample amount of expat bloggers.  There is such a great community of people and I hope to be able to get to know a lot of these people.  Living away from home is tough, but an amazing experience, and it’s always great to have a support system that is going through the same things you are.  I found this link up put on by Belinda and Bailie, asking questions about what it’s like to be living in your current location.  I thought, “Why not give it a shot?  This will be fun!”

Japanese Market

August Questions:

1. What is your favorite food store in your city and why?
My local market is called Mrs. Smart.  It’s super close, about an eight minute walk from my apartment.  I think it’s super cute and I love being there.  It makes me feel like a local.  For some reason, I was really excited about being able to go shopping at a Japanese market.  All my dreams have come true!  (Okay, that was a little dramatic… Okay, not really).
2. For your answer to number 1 is it ok to buy the store brand items or do you pay extra for a name brand?
I don’t think the store is big enough to have it’s own brand.  I usually just buy what I think looks good since I can’t really read most of the labels.  I’m actually a little familiar with a lot of the products, since I would shop at Japanese/Asian markets a lot back at home.  I’m able to gauge which are the sauces I want to buy, etc.
3. What do you think is the best way to get about your city? i.e. bus, bike, car, etc
Probably by car, but since I don’t have one, a bike is the fastest and easiest way.  The city I live in is pretty spread out, so walking will take forever.  It’s also extremely hot and humid, so the faster I can get to places, the better.
4. Which store do you turn to for basics like toilet paper or cleaning supplies?
We have a home goods store here, which is kind of like Target.  As the name suggests, they have basically everything you would need for your home.  The 100 Yen store is also super awesome.  It’s about $1 for a lot of things.  I can find soap, cleaning supplies, snacks, and sooo much more for only $1.
5. Where do you think is the best place in your city to get a cup of coffee (or beverage you prefer) and catch up with friends?
I haven’t been here for that long and have a lot of exploring to do.  They have cute cafes around, which will be great places to hang out with friends.

 

Plus these questions from Emma, at Adventures of a London Kiwi:

 

6.  What was your “eureka, I’m practically a native” moment?
I haven’t had that moment yet.  I’ve only been living here for three weeks and I’m still in the process of getting used to living here.  There are a lot of stores and restaurants I would like to explore here and I still haven’t taken any pictures yet!  Ah!
7.  Does your real accent get in the way?
Most definitely.  I barely string together sentences in Japanese.  I know I have a long way to go in order to be able to communicate with my co-workers.  It also makes it harder since the area I’m in has their own dialect within a dialect.
Found Love. Now What?

17 comments

  1. Lou's Lake Views

    Like I said to Bailie, i am in awe of anyone, like you, who copes with shopping in a country with a different language when I struggled so much going from England to Canada! Kudos :-D I spotted some Pocky in your pic my boys love them, it’s one of the benefits of living in a multi cultural country, we get goodies from all over the world! Good luck in your new expat journey x

    • Mallory

      Shopping does take a lot more time than it normal would because I can’t find something right away. Like today, it took me at least 5 minutes to figure out where the sesame oil was. I think it helped that I would go to Japanese markets back at home, so the sauces look somewhat familiar and I can guess from there.

      Pocky is awesome! And thank you so much!

  2. Alex Fahey

    I am so glad you shared this story. I just moved to Korea this week and I feel like I am drowning… but in a good way :) I can’t wait to get to know you better through this blog. -Alex @ Our Lives Are An Open Blog

    • Mallory

      Awesome! I hope your move wasn’t too hectic and stressful. I loveee Korea. I studied abroad there and I miss it! I would love to read all about your adventures :)

    • Mallory

      Nice to meet you too! I think the most challenging part of me is the sauce aisle. A lot of the sauces look the same so I have to go and look through every single one to find the one I want! Like yesterday, I wanted sesame oil and I found out that it wasn’t with the rest of the sesame sauces, but somewhere else sighh. But now I know!

  3. adventuresofalondonkiwi

    Oh wow, moving to Japan is big! I’m really kinda jealous because we love Japan and you get all the random flavours of Kitkats (not that that’s enough of a reason to move there, I know!)
    One word of advise from a seasoned expat – get your family on Skype it’s amazing!!

    • Mallory

      I still have to try the green tea kit kat flavor! There are so many different chocolates and candies I have to try, but I always end up buying the same one.

      I’ve only Skyped with my parents once haha, but I’ve done it a ton of times with my boyfriend. Thank goodness for technology sometimes (even though sometimes it makes me want to throw everything off my balcony. I don’t know how people did it way back in the day!

  4. Brittany Ruth

    Awesome! Thanks for stopping by and leaving that nice comment. I’d love to visit Japan and maybe live there for a year that would be awesome. All that candy looks amazing! Also, I’m having a giveaway right now on my blog for a vintage inspired handmade clutch!

    -Brittany Ruth

Leave a Reply

