Obon Festival

Obon Festival

My city’s Obon Festival was last weekend, which is a custom to honor the spirit of one’s ancestors.  My co-workers helped us get ready, putting together the yukata and tying the obi.  Many Japanese women these days don’t know how to tie an Obi the correct way and end up buying a pre-tied bow.  Unfortunately, it seems like this is a custom that may eventually fade away unless people start taking more interest in learning how to do these practices.  It’s so beautiful the way the bow is tied.  During the Obon Festival, there are a ton of street food, games, and performances for everyone to enjoy.  Near the end, everyone got together in the center of the area to dance Obondori together.  These dances are in memory of people’s ancestors.  Even though I didn’t know the dances, I still joined in and followed along.  My co-workers were really happy to see that we were participating in these dances.  I had a lot of fun dancing and wearing the yukata.

Yukata

Yukata

Obi

Yukata

Taiko

Festival Food

Festival Food

Obon Festival

10 comments

  1. Nicole Lauren

    Hi! I really like your blog and couldn’t help but noticing your blogging from Japan. Pretty cool! Gorgeous yukata, I lived in Japan myself and my favorite memories were the summer festivals. I wasn’t much of a fan of those wooden geta though lol.

    • Mallory

      Thank you so much! That’s so awesome that you also lived in Japan. Where did you live? The geta are soooo painful. My feet were in so much pain after the night…

      • Nicole Lauren

        I lived and went to school for a semester in Osaka but I spent some time in Tokyo too (not enough time if you ask me though!) as well as Kyoto. Osaka was such a unique city and the food is incredible. I sure do miss those streetside takoyaki stands lol.

      • Mallory

        I just came back from Osaka! I’m definitely a city person, so I loved every minute of it. And oh my gosh, yes. THE FOOD. I was pretty much in food heaven the entire time. Every time I’ve been in Tokyo, I felt like I didn’t spend much time there. You seriously need like a week to be able to see everything in Tokyo (that’s if you don’t want to pack everything in a few days).

    • Mallory

      Thank you :) Yes, I feel like taking part in these events don’t come very often and I’m soooo happy that they left me borrow a yukata and helped me get ready in it. I also loved being able to dance with everyone. It’s moments like these that make me love being here even more. You really get to experience what their culture is like first hand.

Leave a Reply

