Weekly Wishes #9

Weekly Wishes

Hi everyone!  How was your weekend?  I didn’t even realize it was Labor Day until Mark told me.  While a lot of you have the day off, I started teaching (finally).  Well, sort of… Today was the opening ceremony for the schools, since it was their first day back from summer vacation, and it ended up being a short day for the kids.  I introduced myself probably 20 times today and now 500 students know who I am.  I still have to do that with three more schools.  Tomorrow will be my first official day of teaching (ahhh!) as I go over my self-introduction PowerPoint.  Wish me luck!  I hope my super kawaii and brightly colored slides will appeal to them.

How did I do on my goals from last week?  I was so proud of myself.  I cooked everyday last week, with the exception of Friday, but I already knew that I was going to a dinner party.  I don’t think I’ve ever cooked that many times in one week and I’m so happy that I stuck with it.  Dinner parties are really expensive ranging from ¥2500 to ¥4000, maybe even more.  So far, I’ve been to three, so if you do the math… yeah, it’s a lot of money.  Unfortunately, the one I went to on Friday was mostly seafood.  The only seafood I like is cooked fish (I know I’m in the land of sushi, but I don’t really like it), so getting a lot of squid and raw fish, made me feel like the price wasn’t worth it.  I must continue cooking as much as I can so I can save up for these dinners and traveling.

As for budgeting, I’m still in the process of finding a method that works for me.  Some people suggested envelope method apps or going on Pinterest to find different budgeting methods.  Within the next week or two, I will start looking at some of these different methods and see what works best for me.

Weekly Wishes

So what’s in store for this week?  I would like to do some reading.  I checked out two children’s books from my local library which I’m going to translate.  I started translating the dinosaur book, but it took me a while to get through the first quarter of the book.  I definitely underestimated how elementary my Japanese is.  But!  No matter how hard it is, I need to push through it because it’ll definitely benefit me in the end.  I also bought Guns, Germs, and Steel, which my dad has been telling me to read.  I did see part of the documentary in school and I enjoyed it.  This book is right up my interest alleyway (I majored in Anthropology!) and I hope to gain more insight and knowledge about how societies came about.

Another small goal that I would like to continue for the rest of the year is to go to bed earlierYou’re not in college anymore, Mallory! Staying up to the wee hours of the morning isn’t going to get you anywhere!   Today I had to start waking up earlier for work and let me tell you, I’m exhausted right now and it’s only 8pm (that’s when I started typing this).  And it’s only the first day!  I need to be sure to start getting a good night’s rest so I can get through the day with a lot of energy.  I have to teach about four classes a day and add that in with weekend traveling, my energy is probably going to take a hit eventually.  I need to make sure I’m healthy and energized for as long as possible.

I hope you all have a great and productive week!

15 comments

  1. Nino van Vuuren

    Ok, so I am also exhausted after a long day of teaching and it is only 18:30 here! You lasted quite long! Well done! They say the fisrt two weeks back are always the hardest because you need to get teaching fit again. And believe me it is! After the first two weeks everything runs smoothly again. Woohoo!

    I just love book reading goals! I hope you enjoy your books and that you are not too exhausted to read this week. Have fun!

    • Mallory

      I can’t wait to get used to it because I’m so tired! I taught five classes today and boy, getting through the last two was tough. Thank you! Hopefully I won’t fall asleep as I try to read, because that would defeat the purpose haha! Have a great week!

  2. Angela Wiebe

    Good luck with getting some sleep!! I find this always to be the hardest thing to do!! Especially in the summer when there’s so much yummy sun!! Have fun translating!!

    • Mallory

      Thank you! I always love staying up late watching TV shows or reading blog posts, but I have to keep telling myself to stop earlier or I’ll be super tired in the morning.

  3. Sandra Dötsch

    Good luck with your weekly wishes! :) I need to get books and translate them, too.
    I think when I go back to University (next couple of days) I forgot all of my Spanish and Italian^^
    Hopefully you manage to get good sleep! Being tired all day long is not fun!!!^^
    Have a lovely week!

    • Mallory

      Thank you! I think it’s a great way to put your reading comprehension skills to the test. I hope you get the chance to check out some books and translate.

  4. Lyndsay ♡

    Hey! Just stopping by from the Weekly wishes link-up. You have such a cute blog! I’m a new follower for sure as I can’t wait to read more of your adventures in Japan. Good luck with reading and getting lots of rest for the week ahead! :)

    Lyndsay xx
    http://www.fizzypeaches.com

  5. Erika

    YAY! I’m so glad you made such great progress on your goals last week! And way to go, pushing yourself and getting started with reading!!! :) The dinosaur book sounds cute! And good luck with going to be earlier. From one night owl to another, haha, it can be difficult! :) But you can do it!!

    • Mallory

      Thanks Erika! I’m hoping that my tiredness doesn’t get in the way of studying and trying to progress with Japanese. When I get home, all I want to do is relax and not have to think about anything. I think I’m going to have to make a schedule or use one of those awesome apps I’ve been hearing about to keep myself on track some days.

    • Mallory

      It is really fun! I thought I would be too tired to cook when I get home, but I’ve been really pushing myself to cook. I would like to start looking for Japanese recipes. I look at my co-workers’ lunches and they always look so yummy and cute!

Leave a Reply

