Kiyomizu-dera

Kiyomizudera

Over the weekend, I made a trip to Kyoto, one of my favorite cities in Japan.  Our first stop after we arrived was at Kiyomizu-dera, a Buddhist temple and a UNESCO World Heritage Site.  Kiyomizu-dera was also a finalist for one of the New Seven Wonders of the World in 2007.  The temple is build on wooden stilts, on a mountain, making it an amazing site and a reason why it was one of the finalists for the New Seven Wonders of the World.  This temple is a beautiful place, with beautiful scenery, but can be incredibly busy during the peak seasons.

KiyomizuderaKiyomizu-dera circa 1909 (cr: University of Vermont)

Kiyomizu-dera is located in eastern Kyoto, near the Gion district which is famous for the geisha culture.

Kiyomizudera

On the way up to the temple, you will walk through a street with cute little shops loaded with souvenirs and snacks.

Kiyomizudera

Kiyomizudera

It was a holiday weekend, so there were a lot of Japanese plus all the other tourists.  Sometimes it’s hard to enjoy sites when there are a ton of people around, but I still was able to take in its beauty.

Kiyomizudera (5)

Kiyomizudera

Kiyomizudera

Kiyomizudera

Most travelers to Kyoto have Kiyomizudera on their lists to visit and for a good reason.  You get great views of Kyoto City, while visiting a UNESCO World Heritage site.  If you’re interested in visiting, their official site has a lot of information.  I’m hoping to go back in the fall and winter eventually, because the area is absolutely beautiful.

13 comments

    • Mallory

      It’s such a beautiful place. What I love about Kyoto that so many historical buildings have been preserved and it’s like going back into the old times.

    • Mallory

      I will probably never get enough of this place and Kyoto city itself. It’s so beautiful. My goal is to see it in every season! I’ve got summer down and I’m going back this winter so I’m super excited :)

  1. Charlotte

    I know that area so well I feel like I could step through the photos and know exactly where I am. Did you dry the lucky water at the side of the temple? There are three – and I had some of the middle one which is for academic success. I failed the test I drank the water for…but it was still fun!!

    • Mallory

      I didn’t get to try the water. The people I was with just walked past it since the line was pretty long. I would have loved to for the experience though!

Leave a Reply

