Sekijuku of the Tokaido Road

Seki Station

Sekijuku may not be as famous and fun as Kyoto, Tokyo, Osaka, or any other big city you think of when you think of Japan, but this gem of an area located an hour away from my city by train. If you’re someone who loves history and to be transported back in time, Seki would be a nice day trip.

Sekijuku

Sekijuku was a stop located on the Tokaido Road, one of the most important roads during the Edo period.  It connected Tokyo to Kyoto and was used by many people seeking to visit the emperor in Kyoto.  Also, those looking to go to Ise Shine (one of Japan’s most important and holiest Shinto shrine) would use this road.  Nowadays, Sekijuku is the only place along the Tokaido Road where the original stores and houses remain.  There are about 200 buildings still remaining from the Edo period.

Sekijuku

Sekijuku

Sekijuku

Sekijuku

Tokaido Road

We stopped at Hatago Museum Tamaya, one of the converted little museums along the road, which was an inn for travelers.

Tamaya Sekijuku

Tamaya Sekijuku

Tamaya Sekijuku

Tamaya Sekijuku

Jizoin – Temple of the guardian deity of children

Jizoin Temple Sekijuku

We ate lunch at a soba restaurant located right next to Jizoin.  This was my first time in a really long time having soba and from what I remembered before, I didn’t like it very much.  I can probably say that I like soba now.

Soba Restaurant Sekijuku

Soba

After lunch, we found a foot onsen where we sat and relaxed while we soaked our feet in the hot water.  It was so relaxing and a nice break from walking around.

Foot onsen Sekijuku

Foot onsen Sekijuku

Although the area may be small, it’s a great place to be transported back to the Edo period.  You get a feel for what it was like to be a traveler during that time (if you can block out the cars passing by).  My friend and I had a fun day, continuously exclaiming at how cute the area is while walking around  and soaking in the atmosphere.  I’m someone who loves historical sites.  I’m always amazed at how people utilized the places that still remain today and love imagining what it was like back in the days.

Sekijuku is located in Seki-cho, Kameyama, Mie Prefecture right off Seki Station on the JR line. 

Sekijuku

4 comments

  1. Laura @ Inspiration.Sparks

    Oh for the love of traditional Japanese style! This tiny town is definitely a gem!!! I could totally see myself saying ‘kawaii’ a million times as i walk through the beautiful homes and shops!! ps. these are some great pictures Mallory!! xoxo

    • Mallory

      Thanks so much Laura! I love traditional Japanese style so much. I need to find more towns like this because there’s just something so peaceful about them.

    • Mallory

      It was such a quaint little area! I loved it. It was a holiday so a lot of the shops were closed, but we still had a lot of fun. I haven’t been to Ise yet, but I’m sure it won’t be as quiet haha!

Leave a Reply

