October Wishes

Weekly Wishes

It’s been a while since I’ve taken apart of Melyssa’s Weekly Wishes link up and since it’s the beginning of the month, I’ve decided to set some goals for October.  The weather is finally cooling down and I’m getting more and more accustomed to life here in Japan.  I’ve finally gotten used to waking up early (I wake up at 6:30 on the weekends without an alarm now… who would have ever thought?  I’m a who loves their sleep too) and have gotten into the routine of having a full time job.  Sometimes I still can’t believe that I’m actually making money.  There are times when I feel like I’m still at an internship, working to gain experience for free.  I honestly wouldn’t mind not getting paid because I love this whole experience so much, but of course, it is nice to have money. *enter a weird, shifty smiley*

My Goals for October

  • Make a study plan and stick to it – I’ll be honest… studying Japanese hasn’t been going very well.  I usually study when I have some free time at work, which doesn’t get me very far.  I’ll study one grammar point every now and then and a handful of new vocabulary words every week.  When I first started working, I would be sooo tired when I got home and wouldn’t want to do or think about anything.  Nowadays, I’m getting more used to my daily schedule and don’t feel like crashing when I get home.  I need to use my time wisely and get at least an hour of studying every other night.
  • Budget, budget, budget! – I’m also getting used to recording every cent I spend during the week and I’ve been doing a pretty good job remaining within budget.  However, there are times when I go over budget in some categories or I don’t plan correctly.  I need to take the time to think about my expenses and not forget to include some payments.  My Seoul trip is coming up in December and I need to start saving for that now!  I’m so excited and can’t wait to go back, but I also have an Osaka trip planned the month before, a possible hiking weekend, then Kyoto right after I come back from Seoul…  Ah!  That’s a lot of spending, so I’ll definitely need to buckle down on my spending.  I hate you Japanese bakeries and all your amazing, heavenly bread.
  • Try to talk more with my students – I’ll admit.  It’s pretty hard to talk to my students at lunch.  But I can see why they probably don’t want to talk to me during lunch.  They don’t know English and they have no idea what to ask me.  I also don’t know what to talk to them besides, “What food do you like?  What color do you like?”  But I will find a way.
  • Always keep learning and improving myself – This is kind of vague since I’m not exactly sure how I will do this, it kind of just happens over time.  One of my biggest things is to always be learning new things, whether it’s more about Japanese culture or more about how to communicate with people, there are so many things out there to be learned.  Learning and growing go hand in hand and I’m always looking to improve myself to be a better person each and every day.

I hope you all have a great and productive week!

Weekly Wishes

23 comments

  1. Crystal Turpin

    Great goals and I used to have the problem of communicating with students during downtime, but the great thing is that in no time at all they were chattering my ear off…even if it was in broken English we had a great time. Good luck with the budget and yea-yea for making a check!

    • Mallory

      I think they’re still in that phase where I’m a stranger and they’re getting used to me (or at least I hope that’s what it is!). I’m sure it’ll get a little better as time goes on. Two students came up to me after class and that’s never happened at the school I was at today, so that was exciting!

  2. Vaida Tamošauskaitė

    nice wishes! can see bit of a challenge – but hey! challenges are great, inni?! :))
    well done you! and wish you all the best luck!!! :)

  3. Raine and Skye

    That’s a lovely picture!
    And those are some awesome goals! Are you learning Japanese on your own or taking classes? I’m thinking of learning the language but not sure where to start.
    I like your determination to have conversations with your students. I’m sure that you’ll be chatting with them just fine in no time. :D
    Good luck with your goals.

    • Mallory

      I’m currently learning Japanese on my own and it’s pretty difficult. Sometimes I’m unsure why certain grammar phrases are a certain way and it’s hard to put what I learn into practice, even though I am living in Japan. People are busy and probably wouldn’t want to sit through me practicing how to say their equivalent to -ing verbs. However, I’m learning a ton just by being here! I feel like, even with my broken Japanese, I’m still learning, super slowly, how to converse better.

      Thank you so much for your sweet comment! I wish you the best with learning a new language!

      • Raine and Skye

        I’m envious. :D It must be so exciting to be able to learn through conversing with the locals.

        I’ve been meaning to learn Japanese for as long as I can remember. I did find some online language sites but I didn’t know where to start. I feel like there’s so much to learn! Did you start learning the characters first? How did you know where to start? Do you learn it from sites or from books? Sorry for bombarding you with questions. ><
        Btw, I've been doing some catch up on your blog and I'm loving your posts! I'm following you on Twitter now. :)

      • Mallory

        It’s definitely a slow process, but I learn a new word or two everyday, just by listening to what people are saying. I’m really hoping that being surrounded by the language will really hep me, even if I’m learning at a slow pace.

        I took Japanese in college for a year and a few months, so that helped me a lot. I’m so glad that I have at least a year, because I’d be even more lost if I didn’t know anything and had to start from scratch. We started with the characters first and you should probably start there so you can at least read somethings. Reading is one of the hardest things, after speaking, since they have the Chinese characters. There are just way too many to memorize, so I’m focusing on speaking right now.

        I’m learning from a textbook I found online. After I finish this though, I’m not sure how I’ll continue learning. What sites did you find?

        Thank you so much! That means so much to me :)

  4. Ali @ a beautiful mess

    WOW! I’ve been living in Spain for three years now and I still have trouble talking to my students in Spanish or Gallego, the local language. You should write another post on how to make Japanese small talk! Good luck with your goals hun!

    • Mallory

      Thank you! Good luck on any goals you have!
      I would love to make a post about that, but I’m still totally struggling with small talk. Sometimes they can’t understand me when I speak English or Japanese, so I end up mixing both together, hoping that they understand what I mean haha!

  5. Melanie Fontaine

    Good luck, Mallory! Budgeting is something that I need to get behind as well – I’ve got a lot of trips planned as well and I really need to make a saving plan! But going to Seoul sounds amazing! How long will you be there?

    • Mallory

      Thank you so much Melanie! Budgeting can be so hard sometimes. Some weeks I’ll be super good about it (like this week) and others, not so much…

      I’m so excited for Seoul! I really miss it there and can’t wait to go back and explore. I’m going to be there for a week.

  6. Adrienne Smith

    These are great goals!

    I am trying to learn German and I have the same problem. I really need to take it seriously! I am having a hard time with that. I really need to MAKE time for it!

    About the budgeting. I don’t know if you have a smart phone (or not, it works on the computer too), but, my husband and I use this app called EEBA, you can find more about it over at eebacanhelp.com. We have been using it for almost a year now, and really like it. It goes by the envelope system. I Love it! I know where all our money is going! We have MANY different envelopes. We even have an envelope for travel and a specific amount of money (what we can afford) goes into this virtual wallet every paycheck. It’s really rad. I hope you check it out.

    I read a comment below that you said that “People are busy and probably don’t want to sit there and help me”. I lived in Korea for 6 months, and found that Koreans were very excited to help wherever needed. I am POSITIVE there is someone in Japan, or classes you could take to get the help you need. I just might be that push that can reignite your personal motivation. And, you never know what people are or are not willing to do until you ask. And if you get a “No” then, you asked the wrong person! Keep positive, and make the time! (Yes, I need to take my own advice!).

    • Mallory

      I’m going to check out that budget app right now! I’ve been looking for an envelope app (that’s free haha).

      I think a thing that holds me back from trying to talk to people is my fear of making mistakes. I know it’s going to happen and I know that people are probably going to be super at the fact that I’m at least trying. When I actually do try, I’m so proud at myself that people kind of understood what I’m saying. I just need to keep telling myself to keep reaching out and practicing no matter what. In the end, it’ll benefit me.

      Thank you so much for your sweet comment :) I wish you the best with your week!

      • Adrienne Smith

        Mallory! Yay! Yes, it’s free for the first 10 envelopes. My husband and I decided we liked it so much (because it syncs between both of our phones!!) that we decided to pay for it too. :) Best of luck to you and your goals. I need to take your advice too and just keep practicing!

      • Mallory

        I’m playing around with the app right now. It’s a little confusing, but I feel like it’s so much more organized than the app I was using. I also like how I can use it online too and download the charts!

        I hope you’ll be able to practice German :)

  7. Aryn (Driftwood & Daydreams)

    Good luck with your goals!! I can’t imagine trying to learn Japanese solo!! Taking a class was hard enough! Best of luck!

Leave a Reply

