Weekend Adventures

Nagoya Castle

I hope you all had a great weekend!  It was another three day weekend for me, which I love, and I met up with a friend from college.  She’s currently studying in Tokyo and made a trip down to my area for the weekend.

Nagoya Castle

On Saturday, we met up in Nagoya.  We ate a very Japanese meal at a place called Denny’s (just kidding) before heading off to castle viewing and shopping.

Nagoya CastleNagoya Castle

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

When we got to Nagoya Castle, a show called the Nagoya Omotenashi Bushotai just started, so we sat down to watch.  It was a fun show with a mix of martial arts and dancing.  After, we were able to take a picture with one of the performers and naturally, we went for the cutest guy.  We waited about 30 minutes to get a picture with him.  Everyone stopped to have a conversation with him after they took a picture, but we couldn’t… We didn’t know what we would say to him!

Nagoya Castle

For dinner, we ate at a make your own okonomiyaki and monjayaki place.  I tried monjayaki for the first time and loved it!  It was fun to be able to make your own okonomiyaki and I must say, mine didn’t turn out as badly as I thought it would.

Nagoya

My masterpiece.

Nagoya

For the rest of the night and the next day, we did a TON of shopping.  I won’t be able to eat out for the next few weeks or so, in order to save up for my next trips, ah!  But, it was definitely a well deserved shopping spree.  I think I’ve been working hard and I’ve held off on shopping until this weekend.  Plus, I need to invest in some winter clothes because I have… two things (now).

Yokkaichi

UFO Catcher

I had fun showing Gaby around my area and was able to explore more places this weekend.  Hopefully, I can go and visit Tokyo some time soon.  I haven’t been to Tokyo very much, both during this trip and my previous trip, so I’m due for a visit soon.

I love three day weekends because it gives me more time to travel and see more things, while giving me an extra day to relax.  I’m sad that there are only a few more left in the year!  I need to make the best use out of all my normal weekends now.

Purikura

6 comments

    • Mallory

      I was a little worried that we wouldn’t find anything to do, since I live in a rural area, but I’m glad we did! I’m lucky that I live within an hour or two of big cities, plus my city has a ton of onsens that we could visit.

    • Mallory

      I’m glad that we were able to meet up with each other. It not only gave me something to do for a weekend, but we also got to see each other again since I’m not sure when the next time we’d be able to hang out would be.

  1. Kristyn @ Milk + Crown

    What a great coincidence that you both are in Japan! I’m glad you guys got to meet up. Looks like such a fun trip–also, who doesn’t love a good photobooth sesh ;)

Leave a Reply

