A Little Story About Love

Sweet Smores

Happy 2 year anniversary to my best friend in the whole world!

November 18th is our two year dating anniversary!  It’s been tough being apart and having to celebrate this day over video chat makes it harder, but I’m so happy to know that these past four months apart have done our relationship so many positives.  We’ve grown stronger as a couple and as individuals, solving conflicts and changing our perspectives on things that would probably haven’t come up as quickly if we weren’t apart.  This distance has made us into better people and into better partners.  We’ve grown more patient, more understanding, more loving towards the other person.  Mark is the best person in the world for me and I couldn’t be happier to have found him.

Since it’s our second anniversary, I thought, hmmmm, why not our love story?  I’ve been wanting to write about it for a while.  Mark and I always rehash the story to each other all the time and there are parts where we have differing opinions on what happened.  Maybe he can tell his side of the story eventually, but you’ll get mine today!

So how did girl meet boy?

It was the first day of our Teaching English Abroad – Education 134 class during our junior year.  I had just finished working at my club’s booth and headed to class.  By this time, I had accepted the fact that I was going to be single for the rest of my life and that I wasn’t looking for a boyfriend this year.  Funny how things happen.  When I got to class, the classroom had six groups of tables.  I decided to sit at the group of tables in the front and center, next to this boy wearing a cap.  That boy was Mark.  After class began, our first activity was an icebreaker: to introduce ourselves and fill out a worksheet, finding students who fit the questions on the worksheet.  Since we were sitting next to each other, naturally we turned to each other to introduce ourselves and ask a question.  I can’t remember what question I asked Mark, but his question was if I had a car.  Later, I found out that he had never been to Disneyland before and I teased him about it.  Day one and I was already teasing him… why was I even doing that?

Sweet Smores

That was day one.  Sidenote: I was a board member for a Filipino club at my school.  The next class, I had my flyers for my club to promote and my friend and I were like, let’s give him a flyer.  After sitting down, I took the flyer and gave it to him saying, “Hey, you look Filipino, you should join!”  I had guessed right, which made it easier to convince him to join my club.  He also told me that he was interested in joining before, but never got the chance to.  Score.  I’d be able to see him more often.  

This education class always had us talking to the people sitting next to us and I’m pretty sure I said some pretty weird and wild things, trying to be cute and flirty.  Okay, I did say some weird things and he probably thought I was crazy.  One time my answer was that I wanted to rule the world and have people bow down to me.  And Mark’s answer to that same question was that he wanted to ride on dragons around the world.  Yeah… I have no idea what the question was anymore… But I just remember a lot of flirting because of my answer.  Don’t judge!  And honestly, I was in so much denial that I liked him, that looking back all I can say is that, it was SOOO obvious that I liked him.

Throughout the first month of meeting Mark, we were making fun of each other and having great laughs during class.  He even walked with me after class just so we could hangout more, even though his apartment was the opposite way of walking (it was so obvious he wanted to spend more time with me once I found out where he lived).  I felt really comfortable with him even though we barely knew each other.  It was weird since I usually take a while to warm up to people and feel comfortable being myself.  I continued to be in denial that I liked him.  I kept saying that I didn’t, but people kept pointing out that we were totally flirting with each other.  Even though my friends were saying that something was happening between us, I still kept telling myself that nothing would ever happen.  I didn’t want to be disappointed when I would out that he didn’t like me.  The funny thing was that Mark also thought I didn’t like him.

Then one day I was super hungry because I hadn’t eaten lunch, and Mark decided to make a move.  He asked me if I wanted to go eat after class since I was hungry.  I said yes, because I wanted to hangout with him more and I was really hungry…  He ended up paying for my sandwich, but I didn’t think anything of it.  My friends were like, ‘HELLO!  RED FLAG.  He paid for you!  IT WAS TOTALLY A DATE!”  Mark thinks it was a date, but it definitely wasn’t (haha!).  During our little lunch outing, I really wanted Mark to have my number, so I make up this little spiel about how nobody ever texted me and I was sad.  Mark asked to exchange numbers, so he could text me (BINGO!).  He never did, until had to call him about activities related to my club, then we finally started texting each other.  Oh well, good enough!  (I’m so lame.)

A few weeks later, I was sad after my Japanese midterm and Mark told me that ice cream would cheer me up, sooooo we went to go get ice cream together.  Red flag number two.  According to everyone else in the galaxy, “when a guy buys you ice cream, it seals the deal!!!!” [insert lots of spazzing here.]  As we were walking to get ice cream, Mark asked me if I wanted to go to Disneyland (since he recently got an annual pass, which he did just for me haha).  I low key freaked out and replied, “I’m going this Friday with my friends.  You can come if you want.”  Mark later told me that he was disappointed because he wanted just the two of us to, buuuuut I’m pretty sure that wouldn’t have been the most awkward date ever.

Sweet Smores

By that time, I had accepted that I liked him, though I thought nothing would ever happen, because nothing ever happened when I liked a guy.  We ended up going to Disneyland with my friends and of course, they all knew I liked him and were trying to get us to go on the rides together and stand next to each other the entire time.  Mark was so oblivious during this time while I thought he was doing everything to avoid me.  We finally sat on a ride together, Toy Story Mania, and I remember betting him that if I won, he would owe me a Balenciaga bag.  He still owes me that Balenciaga bag ;) He did buy me a chimichanga though.  I guess that’s kinda sorta close enough, in a different food way… Okay not really.  On the way home, I had to drive, but I was sleepy.  Mark was in the front seat trying to keep me awake, so we ended up having a “get to know you better” conversation.  It was probably his plan to find out more about me.

Sweet SmoresFrom our Disneyland trip with my friends!  We still didn’t know we liked each other.  (And that woman behind me…  Looks like she’s having a great time!)

The next day, we were supposed to go on a walk together, but it was raining and I didn’t wake up in time.  He called me to remind me, but he was afraid that I was mad that he woke me up.  We agreed that we’d go get coffee together later in the day.  Later, I picked him up at his apartment and we sat with our hot chocolates, outside in the cold.  He began asking me questions about myself (I’ll let Mark tell you the specifics, because it was really cheesy).  I was on nerves overload and I had to go to the bathroom while he was asking me questions… I really did have to go to the bathroom, plus I was kind of freaking out and needed to make sure I looked decent.  Once I came back, he finished up asking me some personal questions and ended with, “And for my last question, would you go on a date with me?  I think you’re a cool girl.”  My heart stop beating.  Then it spazzed out.  A smile spread across my face.  I couldn’t believe that this was happening.  He thinks I’m cool.  How could this happen to me?  Obviously I said yes, but I told him I wouldn’t be able to until two Fridays later (his friends thought I was just playing with his emotions, but I really did have prior engagements haha!).  From then on, we got to know each other better and become the people and couple we are today.  I’ve had so many fun and amazing experiences with Mark and I’m so excited that we’ll be able to have so many more adventures together in Japan.

I still think about how crazy it was that I just happened to decide to sit next to him in our class.  If I hadn’t, we probably wouldn’t have ever met and talked to each other and eventually start dating each other.  It’s crazy how the world works and it makes me believe in fate.  Sometimes, things are just supposed to happen.

To be continued…

Sweet Smores

All the Hippopophotos are credited to our friend, Miko. 

22 comments

    • Mallory

      Thank you! We were both really shy, but not really at the same time, around each other. Good thing Mark was brave enough to make a move, even though he didn’t think I liked him.

  1. Amy @ the tide that left

    Happy Anniversary – I love the way this story started with you having decided you’d be ‘single forever’! I was exactly the same way and remember saying to my Mum a few weeks before I met the man I would later marry that I knew I’d never find love again. Don’t you love being wrong about stuff like that?!

    • Mallory

      Ah that’s so crazy! I really do think that things happen when you least expect it. I do love being wrong about things like that, because it felt so good to be wrong :)

  2. Melanie Fontaine

    Congrats on your anniversary! I see so many similarities in our stories! :) I met my boyfriend on the first day of university and much like with the both of you things were just… so easy. There was no drama in getting together, it just happened and I honestly believe that that’s the best way of getting together! :)
    I’m glad that the two of you are handling the LDR good and that it has made you stronger both individually and as a couple – the same has happened to us! I think when you’re spending so much time with another person, you can sometimes lose the sense of your own identity, if that makes any sense, but when you’re in a LDR you’re forced to deal with yourself and yourself alone again. That’s super hard in the beginning, but I do believe that it’s a good thing for oneself and the relationship as well! :)

    Glad you’re soon together in Japan!

    • Mallory

      Ah that’s so cute about you and your boyfriend! I love how is all kinda sorta fell into place. We both felt so comfortable with each other in such a short amount of time. I’m glad we’re on the same page with long distance relationships :) I wish that they would get a better rep, because you really do get a better sense of yourself and your partner. You get to grow in both ways!

  3. Anj Cambi

    I didn’t notice at first that you too are Filipinos! I only had an idea with the sash that you had on during your graduation. I always get so proud to see fellow Pinoys soaring high abroad and here in blogosphere! :) Praying for both of your success!

Leave a Reply

