Hikone Castle – 彦根城

Hikone Castle
Hikone Castle
Hikone Castle

Hikone Castle
Hikone Castle
Hikone Castle
Hikone Castle
Hikone Castle
Hikone Castle
Genkyu Garden
Genkyu Garden
Genkyu Garden
Hikone Castle is Hikone’s treasure and one of four castles considered to be a national treasure in Japan.  It’s one of the only castles in Japan with original buildings.  Hikone takes pride in this castle and has been fighting to make this a world heritage site for many years.  Because the castle is located on a hill, you get a beautiful view of the city and Biwako, Japan’s largest lake.

For ¥1000, you can gain admission to the castle, museum, and Genkyu Gardens.  I saw the last traces of autumn as Japan heads into winter.  It was beautiful to see the last remaining orange and red leaves against the backdrop of this charming castle.  The autumn chill, although cold, was refreshing.  I was happy that I was able to see some autumn leaves, because it makes it even more charming and beautiful.  Unfortunately, I was probably one or two weeks too late to see the autumn leaves in its entirety, but I was happy with what I got to see.

The castle itself was a lot smaller than I expected and being an original building, it was unlike other castles I have visited before.

6 comments

    • Mallory

      I did go inside. I was actually surprised that it wasn’t a museum like Osaka-jo and Nagoya-jo (the two castles I’ve been into before Hikone-jo). They had two cases which displayed the original roof tiles and decorations, but that was about it. It was completely wood, with extremely steep steps inside. My friend told me that she also visited another original castle and it was similar inside. If there’s nothing inside the castle, then you know you’re in an original building haha!

  1. Anna

    Lovely photos! I really hope to visit Hikone castle one day. I have only been to one castle in Japan, Aizu Castle, it wasn`t the original building and the inside was a museum. The museum was very interesting but I would like to see what the inside of Japanese Castle`s really looked like! I definitely feel like Autumn is nearly over, there seem to be more leaves on the ground than on the trees now in Kyoto! But the momiji in Arashiyama last weekend was wonderful.

    • Mallory

      Thank you! There wasn’t much to see inside the castle, since it was mainly empty, but it’s interesting to see what is left of the castle. I’m so sad that autumn is almost over! We have a tree at one of the schools I work at that had all its leaves and was completely yellow on Friday. When I went to school today, half of the leaves were on the ground :( I was sad…

Leave a Reply

