So Close, Yet So Far

Distance

It’s official, Mark will be moving to Japan on March 24th!  Cue fireworks and confetti!  He was contacted by his contracting organization and was given the details about what city he’ll be living in and when his orientation will be.  We were both unable to sit still, while waiting to hear where he was going to be placed.  Sometimes I felt like I was more antsy than he was.  We were super excited to finally know a set date and location, but at the same time, my heart was in my stomach.  You see that screenshot above?  That’s the driving route from my city (A) to Mark’s city (B).  So close, yet so far.  My day dreams of us being able to hang out every weekend, traveling all over Japan was shattered (okay, that’s  a little dramatic).  But in reality, deep down, I knew there was a very small chance that we would be placed in the same prefecture, let alone the same area.

By train, it will take about 3 1/2 hours if I take the bullet train, but if you know a thing or two about the bullet train, it’s really expensive.  The cheaper, but still expensive alternative will take about 5 hours to get there.  It’s definitely double, just not frequently, due to the travel time and the cost.  I guess we will still be in a long distance relationship, but at least the distance has shortened.  It’s better than him living in Hokkaido or Kyushu, and definitely better than him living in California.  I’ve become more accepting that we will probably only be able to see each other once a month and I’m looking on the brighter side.  He could have been placed way up in the north or way down in the south, which would require an airplane or the shinkansen to travel to.  Mark’s placement in Shizuoka Prefecture is really lucky.  I’m also looking forward to visiting him because not only does it look beautiful, he’s close to Mt. Fuji!  Look!  It’s practically in his backyard.  We’ll keep looking forward to spending time with each other, focusing on our goals to motivate us to work hard for each other.

After that initial shock, I have come to terms with reality and I’m more than excited for him to start his new life here in Japan.  I know he’s going to have such an amazing experience, teaching, traveling, and eating everything.  We’re going to have so many great adventures ahead of us whether its through teaching or traveling.  Right now, I want February to end and the end of March to come, so I can travel to Shizuoka to see him and wish him luck before he starts teaching!

4 comments

    • Mallory || Sweet Smores

      I agree! I need to look past all the negatives and see that once a month trips to see each other will be the best things ever. We’ll have so much fun and it’s definitely way better than the distance between California and Japan.

  1. Anna

    That’s good that you’re looking on the bright side. Once a month may not be ideal but it is an improvement for sure :) plus you have a perfect excuse to visit Mt. Fuji!

Leave a Reply

