Fushimi-Inari

Fushimi-Inari
Fushimi-Inari
Fushimi-Inari
Fushimi-Inari
Fushimi-Inari
Fushimi-Inari
Fushimi-Inari
Fushimi-Inari
Fushimi-Inari
Fushimi-Inari
Fushimi-Inari
Fushimi-Inari
Fushimi-Inari

One of the sites I was most excited about visiting during our Kyoto trip, was Fushimi-Inari, a shrine dedicated to the god of rice.  All the pictures I saw of the hundreds of toriis looked so mesmerizing and such a tranquil atmosphere to walk through.  I was under the impression that we would be able to get lost on the path of toriis, having the place to ourselves.  Unfortunately, our timing was a little off… We went two weeks after the new year and hundreds of people were still visiting the shrine to pray for the new year.  (Note to self: don’t visit shrines in January).  We were constantly following people, walking up the mountain.  However, I still enjoyed the surroundings and the crisp air.  Even with the city and a train station outside the shrine’s entrance, the trail leads you through a forest, up a mountain.  It’s hard to believe that you can find such a peaceful place near the city.  We would love to visit again when there are less people and finish the entire trail.  Mark’s feet were hurting and he wanted to eat (okay, we both wanted to eat, but I did want to keep walking).

Even with the crowds, I still loved visiting this shrine.  It’s now one of my favorite spots in Japan.  I would highly recommend this place for any travelers going through Kyoto.

20 comments

  1. Anna

    I love Fushimi-Inari, it is definitely one of the most interesting shrines in Japan! It looks so crowded though! I can’t believe how people were there even though it was two weeks after new year.

    • Mallory || Sweet Smores

      It really is! I haven’t visited any other shrine that’s similar to Fushimi-Inari. I thought people would have been done praying by that time, but I guess not! We’ll have to go back for another visit.

  2. LILY LA

    Beautiful photos! I loved Kyoto when I visited, one of my favourite place! Even though theres so many shrines around, it doesn’t get boring at all!

    • Mallory || Sweet Smores

      Thank you! Kyoto is one of my favorite cities too! It’s such a beautiful city, rich with history, the type of city that I love to explore. Kyoto is such an interesting city because of all the shrines, temples, and geisha background.

  3. Aryn (Driftwood & Daydreams)

    Beautiful photography as usual! So jealous- this is at the top of my list of places to visit!

  4. esther julee

    I might have to go through my kyoto photos to see if we made a stop here! I wasn’t as good at writing these things down a few years ago. Love the photos too btw! :)

Leave a Reply

